Pancha Mahabhuata

Pancha Mahabhuta (पञ्चमहाभूत)

According to Ayurveda all living and non-living things are constituted by five elements , namely –

  • Akash ( Space)
  • Vayu ( Air)
  • Agni ( Fire)
  • Jala / Ap (Water)
  • Prithvi ( Earth)

These elements are present in different proportions in different structures and functions of the body as well.

reletion of the five elements to the three Doshas 

Akash , Vayu – Vata

Agni – Pitta

Jala, Prithvi – Kapha